Emily Figueroa » About Me

About Me

Hi! Mi name is Emily Figueroa-Pagán. I was born in Arecibo, Puerto Rico. My native language is Spanish and I moved to the United States in order to learn and improve my English skills. I have a Master’s Degree in Social Work (MSW) from the University of Puerto Rico and a Bachelor’s Degree in Business Administration. My passion is helping and empowering people and children in all aspects of life.

In Puerto Rico, I worked as the social work supervisor at a non-traditional high school with  families, youth and children. Prior to that I have worked as a mathematics tutor and as a mentor for university undergraduate students at the University of Puerto Rico. Additionally, I have tutored Spanish and other subjects to youth and children from marginalized communities in Puerto Rico. Also, I used to teach Christian dance to youth and children from church and from marginalized communities. I have done unpaid voluntary service with marginalized members of different nonprofit organizations that worked with poor children.

I love working with children and I am eager to contribute to their learning process and to their personal growth. Working with children and being able to see their progress is one of the best satisfactions that I have ever had.

I enjoy running, biking, hiking and being outdoors. Also, I like reading, learning about different cultures, traveling, playing board games like scrabble and chess. I love spending time with my family, friends and doing voluntary service for needy people. I believe that learning a new language is a new experience that will open the mind, increase knowledge, widen horizons and change one’s perspective to a higher level. Furthermore, foreign language is more than just a language, it opens doors to new cultures, people, places, food, and other amazing discoveries.